The Scapegoat

20150715_102854_7 20150713_113403 20150715_123400 20150715_094103_1When 121 kids show up for the “programe por los ninos” (VBS in English), it’s tough to give attention to each of them. But every once in awhile, one or two will catch your eye for one reason or another. I saw a little girl…dirty, matted hair….not so different from some of the others, but her “dirt was a little more” and her clothes were a little more ragged. Then I watched…the other little girls were running to the women to tattle on her, blame her for arguments, pointing their fingers at her. The women began to approach her, and one hit her across the head. The other pushed her to the ground and made her sit. One slapped her about 10 times on her back. I realized right away that she had done nothing. She was a scapegoat…the one being picked on and blamed for any discomfort that the others were experiencing. When it calmed down, I went over and picked her up. I kept saying over and over again, “Tu eres bonita” . . “You are beautiful.” She just stared at me and I wonder if she had ever heard it before. It was heart breaking. And then I had to put her down and eventually leave her, knowing she would probably not have a great day. I prayed that she heard the message, the story of Jesus, and that she knows she is “bonita”.

Jesus was a scapegoat too. He was blamed for all the things that were not true. But He willingly took the punishment that we deserved by going to the cross for all my ugliness. It’s sad that a beautiful little girl reminded me of that yesterday. I hope she heard. I hope she will know how beautiful she is in the eyes of our Savior. I will forever pray for that.

Acts 2: 23
This man was handed over to you by God’s set purpose..and you put him to death on a cross…but God raised Him from the dead. It was impossible for death to hold Him.

Leave a comment