A Great Name

Dear world,

This is Sarah. I have taken Suzanne’s tablet (to tell you the real story at the DR!… which turns out to be remarkably like Suzanne’s story. Yay for teamwork!- Shout out to Jefe Swadener!)

This is my fourth year coming to the DR. I’m getting somewhat used to being awaken by roosters, sharing one bathroom with 7 girls (if you are not a girl, you do not understand this feat) not being able to drink the water, intense heat with a humidity it seems you have to swim through, and the general scent and feel of sweat, dirt, sunscreen and bug spray all mixed together caked on in layers over every inch of skin. Those things you can get used too.

But some things I can’t get used to, and I hope I never will. What still tugs at my heart are the children who scream your name and want to be held and spoken too and acknowledged. They want to learn and want to be loved (and make fun of my dancing and faulty Spanish- and I’m okay with that). I can’t get used to the five-year-old girl begging me for water, when i myself am thirsty but know that it’s likely not nearly as bad as her need. I hate when they beg you not to leave and they cry.

I’m asked often why I come every year. I don’t come because I think I can solve these things. I don’t come to check off my box or feel good about myself. I’ve learned that I often don’t know what to expect or what will be asked of me when we finally arrive. I come because I believe God is at work here and he has something for me to do- using both my strengths and weaknesses to serve others. I come because we have built lasting friendships and partnerships with the Dominicans who can help meet the physical and spiritual needs of the villages. I’m here to do what is asked of me and more, while encouraging and supporting those who are here.

Being in the DR, I’ve been put in interesting positions that have opened my eyes to the goodness of God.

I’ve talked with prostitutes about their hope for their children. I’ve been peed on by babies while sharing my testimony. I’ve built up the side of Pueblo Nuevo church alongside Pastor Miguel, a drug dealer and a thief (who has no arm because it was cut off as punishment). I’ve been the whale that burps up Jonah as performed for orphans. I’ve prayed with ninety year- old women for their health and they have prayed for me.

So, in the midst of the extreme poverty and intense political situations, although my heart is moved to compassion, I am not sad. I am joyful because i see what God has done and what he is doing. He’s planting churches and raising up pastors and he’s feeding people spiritually and physically and educating Americans about the needs of this world and this country. And within a place that could seem so dark, there is hope. A tangible hope that goes beyond the need for a job or education, a hope for unfailing love that while surpass anything we could know in this world.

I’m here to make God’s name great.

Therefore, say to the house of Israel, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: it is not for your sake O house of Israel that I am going to do these things, but for the sake of my holy name….Then the nations will know that I am the Lord declares the Sovereign Lord, when I show myself holy through you, before their eyes. Ezekiel 36: 22-23

That’s what it has always been about. And I’m thankful that He has let me be a part of it.

Leave a comment